top of page

Vegan "About Time" Shortbread Biscuits

Ok, if you were expecting all my favorite fall movies to be Halloween or teen vampire related, then I'm sorry to disappoint (JK, #sorrynotsorry). The next in my favorite fall lineup is near and dear to my heart. Those who know me, including my British friends, will tell you my love of all things British. I love the people, the culture, the films and TV shows, and definitely the food. That's where About Time comes in. I have seen this movie countless times, and is one that I love to watch on any day of the year, but is even better while curled up on the couch on a cool fall day. 

This one was easy to choose, since English tea, sandwiches, and biscuits are not uncommon in the British culture. You see it many times throughout the film, and made me want to sip a hot cuppa as I watch it again. 

Check out my vegan version of the films biscuits below, and I hope you do something fun this Sunday! 

Ingredients

1 cup (16 tbsp or 2 sticks) vegan butter

1 tbsp. lemon zest

1 tsp. fresh lemon juice

1/8 tsp. vanilla 

2 cups all purpose flour

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1 pinch of ginger (or 1/8 tsp)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. 

In a medium sized bowl, cream together the vegan butter and powdered sugar. Add the lemon zest, lemon juice, vanilla, and ginger. 

Slowly add the flour and mix together well. This will form a dough. 

Sprinkle on a floured surface. Coat a rolling pin with flour and roll out the cookie dough in a medium-thin layer. 

Take a round cookie cutter or top of a mason jar and cut out the cookies. Peel up the cookies and place on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet. 

Bake at 350 F for 10-15 minutes. Let cool and enjoy with a nice, hot cuppa! 

I hope you you do something fun this Sunday! 

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page