top of page

Vegan Arroz con Gandules

As a way to wrap up my year of vegan and vegetarian recipes, I wanted share a family holiday classic side dish recipe, and one that is probably seen often in Puerto Rican homes. My abuelita first showed me how to make this dish when I was a teenager, and I'm sure she would be very curious to have seen how I planned on making this vegan! 

Believe it or not, arroz con gandules is generally vegan to begin with, depending on how you make it. Surprise your family members this holiday season by bringing this delicious side dish to the Christmas dinner table, and I hope you all do something this Sunday! 

Happy Holidays to you all and see you next year!

Ingredients

2  cups white long grain rice (rinsed-this gets out the starch!) 

2 1/4 cups water ( or as instructed on the rice bag. My abuelita always said to add just enough to cover the rice)

4 frozen cubes of homemade  sofrito  or 4 tbsp. fresh sofrito

1 can Goya gandules (drained and rinsed)

2 tbsp. vegetable oil (1 tbsp. for frying and 1 to go in the rice after the water is added)

1/4 diced vegan seitan (I'm using the leftovers from my  vegan beef stroganoff  dish!)

1 tbsp. minced garlic

3 tbsp. tomato paste

1/4 cup green Spanish olives (whole or sliced)

Directions 

In a medium sized pot, add 1 tbsp. vegetable oil on medium high heat. Add the onion and seitan. Saute for a few minutes. 

Next, add the minced garlic and tomato paste. Mix well and cook for another minute. 

Add the rinsed rice, water, and 1 tbsp. vegetable oil. Add the sofrito, Sazon, and olives. Mix well. 

Cook on medium-high for 20-25  minutes. Occasionally stirring and  fluff with a fork. 

Serve warm and enjoy! Happy Holidays!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page