top of page

Pescatarian Mardis Gras Jambalaya


Happy Fat Tuesday! I am a few days behind getting this posted, but it's still in time for the Mardis Gras season. This chicken-less, sausage-less jambalaya was a great addition to our dinner table so far this week, and here's how you can make it. I hope you did something fun this Sunday!

THE ORIGINAL RECIPE:

This recipe originated from a savory, slow cooker recipe found on Pinterest. Find the recipe here.

  • 2 chicken breasts, skinless, boneless, cut into chunks-DID NOT ADD

  • 1 pound andouille sausage links, sliced-DID NOT ADD

  • 1 can diced tomatoes, 28 ounces-I used 2 cans of fire roasted tomatoes

  • 1 large onion, chopped

  • 1 red bell pepper, finely chopped-I used 1 red and 1/2 of a green pepper

  • 2 stalks celery, thinly sliced

  • 2 cups chicken broth-I used Better than Bouillon Vegetable Broth

  • ½ teaspoon dried thyme -I didn't add this

  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano -I didn't add this

  • 1 tablespoon Cajun seasoning

  • ½ teaspoon cayenne pepper

  • 1 pound shrimp (13-15 count)-I used cooked shrimp

*Note: I added 2 cups cooked homemade Spanish rice as well, with green pigeon peas. I also added a can of black beans and red kidney beans.

DIRECTIONS:

Follow the directions as directed in the recipe, minus adding the chicken and sausage. You can use a crockpot or a large pot will do as well.

MY REVIEW:

This dish was really delicious and has made enough to last us a few days! It's easy and effortless, and the rice really pulled together all the flavors. I recommend it, however you want to cook it!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page